Question

Eastern Motors Auto Dealership wanted to estimate the average CLV over a 5 year time horizon...

Eastern Motors Auto Dealership wanted to estimate the average CLV over a 5 year time horizon of a customer who purchases a new vehicle. The average vehicle sells for $27,100 and has a margin of 10%. Based on historical averages, 74% of people buying a new vehicle at Eastern will return for service 11 times over the next 5 years. Though it varies considerably, Eastern generates approximately $132 in margin on each service visit after accounting for parts and direct labor costs.

1. Not including service, what is the average dollar margin for each new vehicle sold?

2. What is the 5 year value of the service component of a customer who returns to Eastern Motors for servicing their vehicle?

3. What is the estimated 5 year value of the service component of a customer who purchases a new vehicle at Eastern Motors?

4. What is the total estimated CLV over a 5 year time horizon for someone who purchases a new vehicle at Eastern Motors?

5. What would be the value of a service loyalty program that increased the average number of visits by 2 (over 5 years) and increased the probability that a new vehicle purchaser would return for service by 5 percentage points (e.g. from 75% to 80%) on a per customer basis?

0 0
Add a comment Improve this question Transcribed image text
Answer #1

1. Average dollar margin for each vehicle sold :

$27100 being the sales value includes 10% margin. Assuming this 10% margin is on cost, $27100 is value equivalent to 110. Finding out value equal to 100 ( as 100+ 10% of 100 = 110)

(27100/110)*100 = $24636.36

Margin = 27100.00 -24636.36 = $ 2463.64

2. 5 year value of the service component of a customer who returns to Eastern Motors for servicing their vehicle :

CLV = average value of a purchase X number of times the customer will buy upto the average length of the customer relationship

= $132 * 11 = $ 1452

3. The estimated 5 year value of the service component of a customer who purchases a new vehicle at Eastern Motors :

= CLV for service component who returns * historical average representing the customer who will return post buying new vehicle from eastern motors

= $1452 * 74%

= $1074.48

4. The total estimated CLV over a 5 year time horizon for someone who purchases a new vehicle at Eastern Motors

= Value of purchase of vehicle + estimated 5 year value of the service component of a customer who purchases a new vehicle at Eastern Motors

= $ 27100.00 + $ 1074.48

= $ 28174.48

5. Value of a service loyalty program that increased the average number of visits by 2 (over 5 years) and increased the probability that a new vehicle purchaser would return for service by 5 percentage points (e.g. from 75% to 80%) on a per customer basis :

= Incremental Value Eastern motors is getting from such loyalty program

= ($132 * 11) * 5% = $72.60

Add a comment
Know the answer?
Add Answer to:
Eastern Motors Auto Dealership wanted to estimate the average CLV over a 5 year time horizon...
Your Answer:

Post as a guest

Your Name:

What's your source?

Earn Coins

Coins can be redeemed for fabulous gifts.

Not the answer you're looking for? Ask your own homework help question. Our experts will answer your question WITHIN MINUTES for Free.
Similar Homework Help Questions
  • Eastern Motors Auto Dealership wanted to estimate the average CLV over a 5 year time horizon...

    Eastern Motors Auto Dealership wanted to estimate the average CLV over a 5 year time horizon of a customer who purchases a new vehicle. The average vehicle sells for $26,400 and has a margin of 12%. Based on historical averages, 79% of people buying a new vehicle at Eastern will return for service 7 times over the next 5 years. Though it varies considerably, Eastern generates approximately $86 in margin on each service visit after accounting for parts and direct...

  • Eastern Motors Auto Dealership wanted to estimate the average CLV over a 5 year time horizon...

    Eastern Motors Auto Dealership wanted to estimate the average CLV over a 5 year time horizon of a customer who purchases a new vehicle. The average vehicle sells for $26,400 and has a margin of 12%. Based on historical averages, 79% of people buying a new vehicle at Eastern will return for service 7 times over the next 5 years. Though it varies considerably, Eastern generates approximately $86 in margin on each service visit after accounting for parts and direct...

  • Eastern Motors Auto Dealership wanted to estimate the average CLV over a 5 year time horizon...

    Eastern Motors Auto Dealership wanted to estimate the average CLV over a 5 year time horizon of a customer who purchases a new vehicle. The average vehicle sells for $23,800 and has a margin of 10%. Based on historical averages, 67% of people buying a new vehicle at Eastern will return for service 7 times over the next 5 years. Though it varies considerably, Eastern generates approximately $107 in margin on each service visit after accounting for parts and direct...

  • Eastern Motors Auto Dealership wanted to estimate the average CLV over a 5 year time horizon...

    Eastern Motors Auto Dealership wanted to estimate the average CLV over a 5 year time horizon of a customer who purchases a new vehicle. The average vehicle sells for $26,100 and has a margin of 10%. Based on historical averages, 73% of people buying a new vehicle at Eastern will return for service 7 times over the next 5 years. Though varies considerably, Eastern generates approximately $145 in margin on each service visit after accounting for parts and direct labor...

  • Eastern Motors Auto Dealership wanted to estimate the average CLV over a 5 year time horizon of a customer who purchas...

    Eastern Motors Auto Dealership wanted to estimate the average CLV over a 5 year time horizon of a customer who purchases a new vehicle. The average vehicle sells for $25,500 and has a margin of 12%. Based on historical averages, 74% of people buying a new vehicle at Eastern will return for service 11 times over the next 5 years. Though it varies considerably, Eastern generates approximately $118 in margin on each service visit after accounting for parts and direct...

  • Eastern Motors Auto Dealership wanted to estimate the average CLV over a 5 year time horizon...

    Eastern Motors Auto Dealership wanted to estimate the average CLV over a 5 year time horizon of a customer who purchases a new vehicle. The average vehicle sells for $26,400 and has a margin of 12%. Based on historical averages, 79% of people buying a new vehicle at Eastern will return for service 7 times over the next 5 years. Though it varies considerably, Eastern generates approximately $86 in margin on each service visit after accounting for parts and direct...

  • please show work Customer Lifetime Value (CLV) 1. An internet service provider (ISP) charges $19.95 per...

    please show work Customer Lifetime Value (CLV) 1. An internet service provider (ISP) charges $19.95 per month. With an average of marketing spending of $6 per year for each customer, it's estimated that each month about 2% of customers leave ISP. Other variable costs are about $1.50 per account per month. The average upfront cost to acquire a customer is $34. What's the CLV of a customer at a discount rate of 5%? I 2. A credit card company has...

  • Print Platon Allocating Transaction Price to Performance Obligations and Recording Sales Value Dealership in markets and...

    Print Platon Allocating Transaction Price to Performance Obligations and Recording Sales Value Dealership in markets and sells the vehicles to real customers. Along with a new vehicle purchase, a customer will receive a free annual maintenance contract for one year from the date of purchase. The standalone seling price of a vehicles 130,000 and the standalone selling price for the annual maintenance contract is 3500 During October 2020, Valur Dealership Inc sold vehicles for 530,250 per vehicle, each with a...

  • 2 Onwa Motors sacar dealership that has two types of operation car sales and service. The...

    2 Onwa Motors sacar dealership that has two types of operation car sales and service. The two divisions operate independently and at the showroom for car r y rate on the service shop (They are oss the s tomach other Despite the independence of the divisions, the company provides incentives to its to som e packages song with the sale of cars now and used Condor the following offer posted one of the windows Click the icon to view the...

  • Assume the Sheltons spend an average of $5 per week at Presto Cleaner. Presto Cleaner makes...

    Assume the Sheltons spend an average of $5 per week at Presto Cleaner. Presto Cleaner makes a 50% margin on Mr. Shelton’s purchases. Mr. Shelton is expected to be a regular customer at Presto Cleaner for the next 4 years, before he and his wife move to a different neighborhood. 1. What is the value, in today’s dollars, of the Sheltons’ purchase to Presto Cleaner? Assume an interest rate of 10%. For purposes of calculation, assume that all of the...

ADVERTISEMENT
Free Homework Help App
Download From Google Play
Scan Your Homework
to Get Instant Free Answers
Need Online Homework Help?
Ask a Question
Get Answers For Free
Most questions answered within 3 hours.
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT