- Scan Question
- + Post
- Get Coins
A large share of the world supply of diamonds comes from Russia and South Africa. Suppose that the marginal cost of mining diamonds is constant at $1,000 per diamond, and the demand for diamonds is described by the following schedule:
|Price (Dollars)||Quantity (Diamonds)|
If there were many suppliers of diamonds, the price would be _______ per diamond and the quantity sold would be _______ diamonds.
If there were only one supplier of diamonds, the grice would be _______ per diamond and the quantity sold would be _______ diamonds.
Suppose Fusia and South Africa form a cartel.
In this case, the price would be _______ per diamond and the total quantity sold would be _______ diamonds. If the countries split the market evenly, South Africa would produce _______ diamonds and earn a profit of _______ .
If South Africa increased its production by 1, 000 diamonds while Russia stuck to the cartel agreement, South Africa's profit would _______ and to _______
Wily are cartel agreements often not successful?
All parties would make more money if everyone increased production.
Different firms experience different costs.
One party has an incentive to cheat to make some profit.
Answer to blank 1: $1,000
Answer to blank 2: 12,000
If there are many suppliers of diamonds, it means the market is a competitive market. So, the firms will set price at the point where, MC = P. Since MC is $1,000, therefore, the price would be $1,000. At this price the quantity is 12,000.
Answer to blank 3: $7,000
Answer to blank 4: 6,000
If there is only one supplier of diamonds, it means the firm is a monopolist. It can produce the quantity where either MR is equal to or greater than MC. The monopolist will maximize profits at a price of $7,000 and a quantity of 6,000.
Answer to blank 5: $7.000
Answer to blank 6: 6,000
Answer to blank 7: 3,000
Answer to blank 8: $18,000,000
If Russia and South Africa formed a cartel, they would set price and quantity like a monopolist, so the price would be $7,000 and the quantity would be 6,000. If they split the market evenly, each would produce 3,000 diamonds.
South Africa's profit = ($7,000 * 3,000) - ($1,000 * 3,000) = $18,000,000
Answer to blank 9: Iincreases
Answer to blank 10: $20,000,000
If South Africa produced 4,000 and Russia produced 3,000 diamonds, the total quantity is 7,000 diamonds. So, the price would decline to $6,000. Now,
South Africa's profit = ($6,000 * 4,000) - ($1,000 * 4,000) = $20,000,000
Ans: One party has an incentive to cheat to make more profit.
A large share of the world supply of diamonds comes from Russia and South Africa. Suppose...
A large share of the world supply of diamonds comes from Russia and South Africa, Suppose that the marginal cost of mining diamonds is constant at $3,000 per diamond, and the demand for diamonds is described by the following schedule
YES 22. Use table 17.09 as a reference to anawer the following stant at 81,000 per animal. If the market was perfeety Tthe marginal coat of sheep and lamb production is 5oo0 bompetitive, what would be the equilibrium priceT 6000 a. $5,000 b. $4,000 ?. 83.000 $2,000 $1,000 7000 6000 5000 4000 7000 8000 9000 10,000 23. Use table 17.09 as a reference to answer the following question: 3000 The marginal cost of sheep and lamb production is constant at...
Suppose a firm producing table lamps has the following costs: Quantity 1,000 2,000 3,000 4,000 5,000 6,000 7,000 8,000 9,000 Average Total Cost $15.00 9.75 8.25 7.50 7.75 8.50 9.75 10.50 12.00 Ben and Jerry are managers at the company, and they have this discussion: Ben: We should produce 4,000 lamps per month because that will minimize our average costs. Jerry: But shouldn't we maximize profits rather than minimize costs? To maximize profits, don't we need to take demand into...
Firm Supply. Credit Check, Inc., offers credit checking services to credit card companies and retailers. The following relation exists between the number of credit checks performed and total costs in this viciously competitive market: 7. Total Total Cost S 150 600 1,060 1,540 2,040 2,565 3,115 3,750 Output 1,000 2,000 3,000 4,000 5,000 6,000 7,000 A. Construct a table showing the marginal cost of production. What is the minimum price necessary for the firm to supply one thousand credit checks?...
#11. The Big Three Corporation manufactures three products (LUC, PLA, and JOS) from a joint process. The three products are in industrial grade form at the split-off point. They can either be sold at that point or processed further into premium grade. Costs related to each batch of this production process is as follows: LUC PLA JOS Sales Price at split-off point $16 $12 $5 Allocated joint costs $6,000 $6,000 $6,000 Sales Price after further processing $20 $18 $14 $5,000...
Gladwell PLC is a large manufacturing company with divisional performance assessed on the basis of profitability. Division North of this company produces a single product. Although there is an external market for this product, currently 100% of the output is transferred within the company to Division South which incorporates this product into another product which is sold externally. Both divisions are currently operating significantly below full capacity. Division North's Costs per unit of product are (based on current total output):...
I need help with number 4 only please OBJ. 2,3,4,5 ✓ 2. 62.5% Search PR 21-6A Contribution margin, break-even sales, cost-volume-profit chart, margin of safety, and operating leverage Blythe Industries Inc, expects to maintain the same inventories at the end of 2012 as at the beginning of the year. The total of all production costs for the year is therefore as sumed to be equal to the cost of goods sold. With this in mind, the various department heads were...
Davis Kitchen Supply produces stoves for commercial kitchens. The costs to manufacture and market the stoves at the company's normal volume of 6,000 units per month are shown in the following table Unit manufacturing costs Variable materials $ 51 Variable labor 76 Variable overhead 26 Fixed overhead 61 Total unit manufacturing costs $ 214 Unit marketing costs Variable 26 Fixed 71 Total unit marketing costs 97 Total unit costs $ 311 Unless otherwise stated, assume that no connection exists between...
Could someone answer for me this question Break-Even Analysis You are employed by Monarch Ltd which manufactures specialist hydraulic seals for the aircraft industry. The company has developed a new seal with the following budged data. Variable cost per unit Direct Materials Direct Labor Variable Overheads The draft budget for the following year is as follows: Production and Sales 60,000 units Fixed costs: Production 260,000 Administration 90,000 Selling, marketing and distribution 100,000 Contribution 840,000 Certain departmental managers within the company...
Davis Kitchen Supply produces stoves for commercial kitchens. The costs to manufacture and market the stoves at the company's normal volume of 6,000 units per month are shown in the following table. $ 44 69 19 54 Unit manufacturing costs Variable materials Variable labor Variable overhead Fixed overhead Total unit manufacturing costs Unit marketing costs Variable Fixed Total unit marketing costs Total unit costs $ 186 19 64 83 $ 269 Unless otherwise stated, assume that no connection exists between...